XFL Announces Head Coaches

XFL Announces Head Coaches: Reggie Barlow, Anthony Becht, Terrell Buckley, Jim Haslett, Wade Phillips, Bob Stoops, Hines Ward and Rod Woodson

 Elite Group of Coaches to Lead the League’s Eight Teams in its 2023 Season

To learn more about our head coaches, please visit www.xfl.com/xfl-today.

Brief bios of the head coaches can be found below:

Reggie Barlow joins the league from Virginia State University, where he spent the past six seasons as Head Coach. He was selected in the fourth round of the 1996 NFL Draft by the Jacksonville Jaguars before playing for the Oakland Raiders and the Super Bowl XXXVII Champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Anthony Becht joins the league from Wiregrass Ranch High School, where he was the Offensive Coordinator. He is a 12-year NFL veteran and was selected 27th overall by the New York Jets in the 2000 draft before going on to play for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, St. Louis Rams, Arizona Cardinals and Kansas City Chiefs.

Terrell Buckley was previously at the University of Mississippi, where he spent two years as the Cornerbacks Coach. He is a 13-year NFL veteran and Super Bowl XXXVI Champion, who was selected fifth overall by the Green Bay Packers in the 1992 draft and went on to play for the Miami Dolphins, Denver Broncos, New England Patriots, New York Jets and New York Giants.

Jim Haslett joins the league from the Tennessee Titans, where he spent two seasons as the Inside Linebackers Coach. Over his 30+ year career, he has coached at the college and pro-level with Penn State, University of Buffalo, Cincinnati Bengals, Washington Redskins, St. Louis Rams, New Orleans Saints, Pittsburgh Steelers and Los Angeles Raiders, the Florida Tuskers of the United Football League and the Sacramento Surge of the World League of American Football.

Wade Phillips was previously at the Los Angeles Rams, where he spent three seasons as the Defensive Coordinator. Over his 40-year career, he has coached at the college and pro-level with Oklahoma State, University of Kansas, the Houston Oilers, New Orleans Saints, Philadelphia Eagles, Denver Broncos, Buffalo Bills, Atlanta Falcons, San Diego Chargers, Dallas Cowboys, Houston Texans and Los Angeles Rams.

Bob Stoops rejoins the league from his position as Head Coach of the Renegades in 2020. He was the longtime coach of University of Oklahoma (1999-2016) and coached the Sooners to a win in the 2021 Alamo Bowl. He has a 191-48 record over his 33-year college career and is the winningest coach in Oklahoma history.

Hines Ward joins the league from Florida Atlantic University where he was the Wide Receivers Coach. He is a 13-year NFL veteran and two-time Super Bowl Champion (XL, XLIII), who was selected in the third round by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 1998 NFL Draft, where he spent his entire NFL career and remains the team’s all-time leader in receptions.

Rod Woodson joins the league after serving as an analyst for NFL Network, the Big Ten Network and Westwood One. Woodson is a 17-year NFL veteran and three-time Super Bowl Champion (XXX, XXXV, XXXVII), who was drafted 10th overall by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 1987 NFL Draft and went on to play with the San Francisco 49ers, Baltimore Ravens and Oakland Raiders. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2009 and the College Football Hall of Fame in 2016.

For more information, visit XFL.com and follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.