The United States Football League (USFL) Set to Return in 2022 on FOX


BIRMINGHAM, Ala., March 3, 2022 – Driven to provide a world-class fan experience, the United States Football League (USFL) today announced that 15 states from across the country thus far have authorized licensed sports wagering operators to accept wagers on the new league. The states include Iowa, New Jersey, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, which require state regulatory approval of new leagues, and Connecticut, Delaware, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. The USFL recently announced Sportradar as the League’s Official Sports Data and Integrity Partner.

The new USFL will be an innovator in how fans watch and root for the teams they love, and we believe that the availability of legal sports wagering is another way fans can deepen their engagement with our games,” said Edward Hartman, USFL Executive Vice President, Business Operations. “We look forward to our fans being able to bet responsibly on USFL games in every state where sports wagering is legal.”

The USFL is dedicated to promoting responsible gaming and fan education as sports betting expands nationwide. Today, sports betting is legal in 33 states and the District of Columbia, and more than 60 percent of American adults can now bet legally in their home state.

The USFL will play its inaugural game on April 16 at 7:30 PM ET (6:30 PM CT) at Birmingham’s Protective Stadium. The primetime matchup pits the New Jersey Generals against the Birmingham Stallions and will be televised live on NBC and FOX. It is the first scheduled sports competition to air at the same time on two competitive broadcast networks since Super Bowl I aired on NBC and CBS, January 15, 1967.

About the USFL

The United States Football League (USFL) is a new, independent football league that is not affiliated with the defunct 1980s league or its owners. The inaugural USFL season will kick off April 16 with eight teams split into two divisions: the Birmingham Stallions, Houston Gamblers, New Orleans Breakers, and Tampa Bay Bandits in the South Division; and the Michigan Panthers, Pittsburgh Maulers, New Jersey Generals, and Philadelphia Stars in the North Division. Each team will play a 10-game schedule, followed by semifinals on June 25 between the top two teams in each division and a championship game on July 3 between division winners. The USFL will complete its inaugural Player Draft with a supplemental round on March 10. Players will report to training camps on March 22. Each USFL team will carry a 38-man active roster plus a seven-man practice squad, and players will receive base compensation in addition to being eligible for victory bonuses. NBC Sports and FOX Sports are the League’s official media partners and will broadcast all 43 regular- and postseason games on FOX, FS1, NBC, USA, or Peacock networks. Brian Woods is President, Football Operations, and former Dallas Cowboys standout and long-time NFL on FOX game analyst Daryl Johnston is Executive Vice President, Football Operations. Former NFL Vice President of Officiating and FOX Sports’ NFL and college football rules analyst Mike Pereira is Head of Officiating, and FOX Sports’ Edward Hartman is Executive Vice President, Business Operations. For more information, visit and follow us on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram.